Chicken and Rice

by itsalldelicious

This is my grandmother’s recipe and I’ve been eating it for as long as I can remember. My grandma made this for my mother and my mom has been making it for my siblings and I ever since.  It is the definition of comfort food and is one of the tastiest meals I’ve ever had! 

To start, you’re going to make a roux. Melt a stick of butter in a pan over medium heat. Yes, I said a WHOLE stick of butter! I don’t want to hear it! I said it’s comfort food! 🙂

Image

 

Slowly add 1/4 cup of flour to the butter…whisk the entire time. Make sure you let the flour cook into the butter (while you continue to whisk) to ensure that the roux doesn’t end up tasting like flour. Image

Once it starts bubbling, add 2 cups of milk and continue to whisk. 

Image

 

Then add one cup of chicken stock, 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, a teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of pepper. Let it come to a low boil while you whisk it. The mixture should start to thicken. Once it comes to a low boil, take it off the heat so it doesn’t get too thick. 

Image

 

 

Image

 

Add in your chicken (I used leftover chicken from the night before) and water chestnuts and mix it up!

ImageImage

Image

 

At some point, you need to cook your rice….cook according the package…about 2 cups! Be sure to salt the water while it boils to give the rice some extra flavoring.

Image

Once the rice is done, serve!

ImageImage

This is seriously my favorite kind of comfort food. I hope you enjoy!

Recipe:

1-1/2 breasts of chicken

2 cups rice

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

2 cups milk (you can use evaporated milk for a thicker sauce)

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 stick butter

1/4 cup flour

8 oz. drained water chestnuts

1 cup chicken stock

Screen shot 2013-03-25 at 10.15.34 PM

