Holy Shiitake Pizza: Mellow Mushroom Copycat!

by itsalldelicious

My mom and I made this for dinner on Saturday and it was amazing! What you’ll need:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Shiitake mushrooms
  • Button mushrooms
  • Portobello mushrooms
  • Onions
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Montamoré cheese (I couldn’t find this at my grocery store so I used a substitute cheese: Gold Bellavitano cheese)
  • Black truffle oil (Once again, my grocery store didn’t have this so I used white truffle oil and it was simply amazing!!)
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Crust (I used whole wheat but anything will do)

Start by boiling a small pot of water to cook the shiitake mushrooms. I didn’t know this but you have to boil them for 2-5 minutes before eating them! I only boiled them for 2 minutes because they’ll cook more in the oven.

Image

Once you get that going, cook all of your other mushrooms on the stove for about five minutes. I used one large Portobello and sliced it up.

Image

Also go ahead and throw the garlic and onion in there with the mushrooms to carmelize.

Image

Drizzle some olive oil over the pizza crust and slice up your ball of mozzarella cheese and put that on the crust. Next, combine all the mushrooms, garlic, and onion and throw those on there as well. Top with the grated Gold Bellavitano & Parmesan cheese. Cook in the oven on 400 degrees for about 10-15 minutes or until the cheese is melted. Mine didn’t take very long because I used a precooked crust. Once the pizza is done cooking, drizzle some white truffle oil on top. I’m telling you, the truffle oil makes this pizza!

ImageImage

So good! As you can see, I can’t get enough of goat cheese so I added that to it as my own personal touch 🙂 Enjoy!

-Sloane

